Australian Community Workers Association Australian Community Workers Association

AJCW stimulates discussion, debate and research on all aspects of community work.

The Australian Journal of Community Work (AJCW) is the official journal of ACWA and is part of our commitment to foster shared practice wisdom and rigorous research. As an interdisciplinary journal, articles are welcomed from all areas and demographic groups that fall within the community work arena.

AJCW includes original research and articles, both peer reviewed and ‘from the field’. Book reviews, letters and other commentary may also be included.

Collated editions are published online annually however articles are uploaded continually after review and acceptance.


Enquiries should be emailed to AJCW Editor:

AJCW: ISSN 2652-3094

Editorial Advisory Board

Anne Jennings (EDITOR)

PhD Candidate, The University of Notre Dame Australia, Project Coordinator Kimberley Transitions (UNDA Broome). Training & Professional Development sub-committee, International Associate for Community Development.

Dr Hossein Adibi

Lecturer and Coordinator of Human Service and Community Studies’ Major, School of Arts and Humanities, Edith Cowan University.

Associate Professor Vicki Banham

Associate Dean (Social Science, Social Work, Counselling, Youth Work), School of Arts and Humanities, Edith Cowan University.

Dr Jenni Mays

Social Work and Human Services Discipline, School of Public Health and Social Work, Faculty of Health, Queensland University of Technology.

Dr Dyann Ross

Senior Lecturer, Social Work, School of Social Science, University of Sunshine Coast.

Associate Professor Harry Savelsberg

Associate Head of School, School of Psychology, Social Work and Social Policy, University of South Australia.

Associate Professor Deirdre Tedmanson

Academic Director UniSA College, University of South Australia.

Dr Sandra Woodbridge

Adjunct Senior Lecturer, School of Human Services & Social Work, Griffith University Queensland.
Principal Consultant, Solutions for Positive Ageing.

Margaret Alston
Professor of Social Work at Newcastle University and Emeritus Professor at Monash University.

Janet Hunt
Assoc Professor at the Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research (CAEPR), ANU.

Anne Poelina
Professorial Chair of Indigenous Studies, Nulungu Research Institute, University of Notre Dame Australia.
Anne has also taken on the role of ‘special editor’ and will overview articles written by non-Aboriginal people that address Aboriginal stories, issues etc